Malta Classic – The Winners

Photo Credit Rusty's Magazine

Following an exhilarating four days of adrenaline-fuelled classic car action, The Malta Classic reached its culmination on Sunday 9th October. Each of the three events, the Hill Climb, the Concours d’ Elegance and the Grand Prix, were well attended by enthusiasts and newcomers alike.

On the first day over 40 local and foreign drivers raced in the Hill Climb by Thomas Smith at Ta’ Pennellu Hill, Mellieha. Weather and road conditions were both ideal, resulting in some excellent timings from participants. Taking first place was Michael Pace in his 1975 Honda Civic with a time of 55,825 seconds. In second place was Joseph Mifsud in a 1969 Hillman Imp and placing third was Clifford Debono in a 1970 Triumph Vitesse.

Thousands of tourists and locals visited Mdina on Friday 7th October to celebrate the beauty and power of classic cars at the annual Malta Classic Concours d’Elegance by Mdina Glass. Whilst crowds enjoyed the classics on display, judges selected winners across six categories. Anthony Axisa received the award for Elegance for his Jaguar E-Type (Series 1) 1962. Roberta Xuereb won “Popular Classic” for her 1954 Volkswagen Beetle. Effie Pisani took home “Unrestored Original Condition” with her Ford Anglia 1948, whilst Geoffrey Minter received the award for “Pre-War” for his 1922 Delage CO2 Dual Cowl. Finally, Mr. Egon Hofer of Switzerland took home the best “Race Car” award with his rare 1960 Ferrari 250 GT SWB and Hugh and Judy Mayes were awarded “Best Dressed.” Mr. Gavin Gulia, Chairman of the Malta Tourism Authority, and Mr. Joe Said, Owner and Managing Director of Mdina Glass, presented trophies designed and handcrafted by Mdina Glass.

Michael Pace was announced as winner of the Malta Classic Grand Prix by Chopard at an awards gala reception at the Corinthia Palace Hotel & Spa. Drew Campbell-Smith from Chopard and Malcolm Lowell from Edwards Lowell presented Pace with a Chopard Mille Miglia Chronograph. Hon. Chris Agius, Parliamentary Secretary for Research, Innovation, Youth and Sport also presented Pace with a custom designed and crafted trophy from Mdina Glass. Pace is the driver of a 1975 Honda Civic.

Other winners from the Malta Classic Grand Prix by Chopard were awarded trophies by Valletta Grand Prix Foundation Chairman Mr. Joseph Zammit Tabona. These included:

Saturday Group Winners

A3 Standard Cars: 1st – Roberto Gauci (1975 Mini Clubman GT), 2nd – Dion Borg (1974 Fiat X-19), 3rd – Michel Zarb (1973 Lancia Fulvia)
A4 Standard Cars: Marco Cernicchi (1960 Porsche 356 B)
A5 Standard Cars: 1st – Gordon Vella (Porsche 911 Targa), 2nd – Paul Sapienza (1975 BMW 2002Tii), 3rd – Peter Hansen (1970 MG B)
A8 Standard Cars: 1st – Zak Matten (1974 Datsun 260 Z), 2nd – Ivan Farrugia (1975 Mercedes SLC 450)
D3 Modified Cars: 1st – Michael Pace (1975 Honda Civic), 2nd – Lucas Pace (Honda Civic), 3rd – Nicholas Mallia (1968 Triumph Spitfire)
D4 Modified Cars: 1st – Joseph Mifsud (1969 Hillman Imp), 2nd – Adrian Muscat Azzopardi (1973 Austin Mini), 3rd – Pierre Tanti (1975 Austin Mini)
D5 Modified Cars: 1st – Clifford Debono (1970 Vitesse Triumph), 2nd – Ray Vella (1970 MG B), 3rd – Hubert Camilleri (1969 Porsche 911S)
E Guest Cars: 1st – Mick Hay (1972 Reynard Fury), 2nd – Ian Osborne (1954 Austin Healy 100 BN1)
Pre-War Cars: 1st – Joseph Huber (1934 Riley TT Sprite), 2nd – Steve Clark (1934 Triumph Southern Cross), 3rd – Joe Gerada (1960 Triumph TR3 A)
C Reproduction and Replica Cars: 1st – George Said (1975 Jaguar D-Type Revival)

Sunday Race Winners

Group 1: Michael Pace (1975 Honda Civic)
Group 2: Pat Thomas (1968 Lotus Elan)
Group 3: Renato Agius (1976 Fiat 127 Abarth)
Group 4: Guy Broad (1969 MG GT)
Group 5: Joseph Said (1959 Jaguar Proteus E-Type)
Group 6: Pamela Said (1968 MG B)
Group 7: Mick Hay (1972 Reynard Fury)
Pre-War (1934 Joseph Huber, Riley TT Sprite)


error: Content is protected !!